Author: Paul Errity

Appointment of Margaret Quinn as General Manager of Newlands Golf Club

Appointment of Margaret Quinn as General Manager of Newlands Golf Club

I am very pleased to announce the appointment of Margaret Quinn as our General Manager and she will join us on March 2nd. Margaret will be joining us from the Courtown Adventure and Leisure Centre where she has been General Manager for the last five years. In her role as General Manager at Newlands, Margaret will be responsible for all operational matters at the Club and the implementation of all decisions made and policies adopted by the Management Committee. She will report to the Honorary Secretary, Eamon Keating.

Margaret has over twenty years experience in Sports Management and has an MSc in Recreation Management. Her career to date demonstrates an ability to successfully manage day to day operations in a busy member based organisation and to embrace and implement strategic change when required. Under Margaret’s guidance, Courtown Adventure and Leisure Centre received the outstanding achievement award at the sponsored National Quality Awards for 2019, an award considered to be the top standard for sports and leisure centres in Ireland.

On the sporting front, Margaret is an active member of Dun Laoghaire Golf Club and was previously a member at Nenagh Golf Club. She has participated at club level as a player, team manager and project manager. Margaret is also a keen swimmer with level two teaching qualifications and has been a tennis enthusiast with level one teaching qualifications.

Please give Margaret a big welcome, we wish her a very successful career at Newlands.

My sincere thanks to Grainne Friel, Eamon Keating, Genevieve Tracy and Pat Lavelle for their advice and guidance in the recruitment phase of a significant appointment for our Club.

My thanks also to our Interim General Manager, Deirdre Morrissey, for her excellent contribution during her tenure at Newlands. Deirdre will be with us until the end of March to ensure a comprehensive handover to Margaret.


Aidan Keogh


Christmas Gift Ideas at Newlands

Christmas is just around the corner & hopefully the Proshop can help you with some festive shopping for the golfer in your life or perhaps you might be even buying a present for yourself?

Read on for plenty of gift ideas… including our Ladies & Gents Christmas Hampers & Customised Hampers… all budgets catered for.

As a festive treat for you we have a great competition from Galvin Green with the chance to win their premium waterproof ARCHIE jacket.

Free Gift Wrapping Service also provided at Newlands Proshop for the coming weeks.

Our Proshop Christmas Raffle is on the 22nd December – €5 per line or 3 for a tenner – over €1,000 worth of prizes.

And we have a funny video from the European Tour with young Billy who’s back again.

Many thanks to all who have been in already supporting the proshop this Christmas.



Lylia Crossan wins Car Parking Space

Lylia Crossan wins Car Parking Space in Newlands Draw.

Winner Lylia Crossan

2nd Prize 4 Green Fees for Arklow Golf Club – Kevin Mac Partlin
3rd Prize 2 Bottles of Wine – John White
4th Prize 2 Bottles of Wine – Leonine Colgan
5th Prize 2 Bottles of Wine – John Dennehy


Men’s Monday Singles Stableford – 12 Hole Open Competition

Newlands Golf Club
Men’s Monday Singles Stableford – 12 Hole Open Competition
Date Timesheet
December 16th 2019 9:00 am to 12:00 pm
January 20th 2020 9:00 am to 12:30 pm
February 17th 2020 8:00 am to 13:00 pm
March 16th 2020 8:00 am to 14:00 pm
Timesheet : Opens 1 month before date of competition
Booking : 01-4593157 ( Pro Shop )On Line at
Entry Fee : €15 per person ( Includes Bowl of Soup )

Halloween Joker Draw

Halloween Joker Draw – Winning envelope Donal Hogan – Card Number 7 – Three of Diamonds – Donal wins €50 – Jackpot  rolls over to €650 for next weeks Draw – Best of luck to everyone

Presidient Sean draws first envelope in Joker Draw

President draws winning envelope for first draw
Winner Philip O’Sullivan who selected Card 9

Video 1 –

Video 2 – President opens Card 9 revealing Jack of Hearts

Philip wins €50
Card number 9 no longer available for selection
Jackpot rolls over to €500 for next draw on Thursday 31st Oct 2019
Best of luck on next draw
Joker Draw Committee

Paul Greene Runner up in GUI All Ireland Medal

Newlands Paul Greene finished runner up this afternoon in the inaugural GUI All Ireland Gold Medal competition held at Irelands Ryder Cup Venue the Palmer course at the KClub.


In blustery conditions Paul finished 4 shots behind Liam Mulveen (Athenry) to capture the runner up spot in class 2 of this new all Ireland competition.

Congratulations Paul on a fantastic achievement.





Scroll to top